February 3, 2010

Poetic Games

Posted in Creativity at 1:18 pm by jajohnson7

A few days ago, I stumbled onto a social networking site for writers. At MYKUWorld, people converse in…well…verse! You have four lines to write about whatever you want, and can link these small poems to others. I think it’s worth checking out.

It also reminds me of a game I used to play on a forum. One person posts a haiku about a person, object, or location (in this case, from the show that the forum centered around) and the others would have to guess what the haiku described. These haiku could be very simple, or very obscure, but it was always fun to puzzle out the subject.

I’m not normally a poet. I don’t write heart-wrenching lines about my existence and stuff them into the dark drawers of oblivion that is my room. I took a poetry class in college once, but that was because I didn’t get into the fiction writing class.

Poetry once in a while, however, and with a purpose (a game or a contest, for example) can be fun and challenging to non-poets, especially when you use meter. Any writer will tell you that poetry doesn’t need to rhyme or have a specific meter, but blank verse doesn’t interest me precisely because of that lack of a challenge. It’s just prose with lots of returns between sentences.

Try writing an Italian sonnet about an Aztec sacrifice. Now that‘ll get the creative juices flowing.

Leave a Reply

